BreakOut West Announces 2015 Western Canadian Music Award Nominees

The Western Canadian Music Alliance is excited to reveal the nominees for the 2015 Western Canadian Music Awards, announced today at a press conference at McPherson Playhouse, in Victoria, BC.

The 13th annual BreakOut West and Western Canadian Music Awards will be hosted in Victoria, BC, September 17-20, 2015. The festival, gala and conference will run concurrent with Rifflandia Festival, bringing together strengths of both events in hosting some of the best in western Canadian talent, increasing opportunities for artists, and networking with industry representatives from many different markets. The Western Canadian Music Alliance, Capital Regional Music Awards Society and the Host Committee are dedicated to making this year’s event a memorable and unique occurrence for Vancouver Island, alongside one of the island’s premier music festivals.

“Congratulations to the Capital Regional Music Awards Society for a successful bid, proudly supported by the B.C. Government, to bring BreakOut West to Victoria for the first time. BreakOut West 2015 in Victoria will provide a great opportunity for talented musicians from British Columbia to perform for appreciative audiences and impress music industry leaders from across western Canada and beyond.” says Coralee Oakes, Minister of Community, Sport and Cultural Development. She goes on to say, “Congratulations to all of the artists and industry members nominated for this year’s Western Canadian Music Awards.”

Music Industry Association member voting opens May 5 at 5:00am PST / 6:00am MST / 7:00am CST and runs through May 20, at 5:00pm PST / 6:00pm MST / 7:00pm CST. All members of the 6 partner Music Industry Associations (Manitoba Music, SaskMusic, Alberta Music, MusicBC, MusicYukon, or MusicNWT) are encouraged to participate and vote for their favorite nominee in each category, by visiting Winners are determined through a combination of member votes and a juried process.

BreakOut West will have many more exciting announcements in the coming months, including the festival line-up, Hall of Fame inductee, conference information, award show performers and much more!

2015 Western Canadian Music Awards Nominees:

Aboriginal Recording of the Year, presented by APTN
Andrea Menard – Lift (BC)
Dee Erin Band – Broken Road (MB)
Indian City – Colors (MB)
Leela Gilday – Heart Of The People (NT)
Rellik – The Dream (AB)
Tanya Tagaq – Animism (MB)

Children’s Recording of the Year
Alex Mahé – Réveillons les bonnes chansons! (AB)
Bobs & LoLo – Wave Your Antlers (BC)
Fred Penner – Where In The World (MB)
Raffi – Love Bug (BC)
Stella Swanson – I’m Not A Bunny (BC)

Classical Recording of the Year
Ysaÿe Sonatas For Solo Violin – Karl Stobbe (MB)
Sins & Fantasties – Mark Takeshi McGregor (BC)
PEP (Piano and Erhu Project) Vol. 2 – PEP (Piano and Erhu Project) Vol. 2 (BC)
Sassicaia – Sea and Sky (BC)
Virtuosi Of The Baroque – Victoria Baroque Players (BC)

Electronic/Dance Recording of the Year
Economics – The Wastes (SK)
HUMANS – Noontide (BC)
Joe Silva – Memory Fade (MB)

Blues Recording of the Year
Big Dave McLean – Faded But Not Gone (MB)
Harpdog Brown – What It Is (BC)
Jesse Roper – Red Bird (BC)
Jim Byrnes – St. Louis Times (BC)
The Harpoonist & The Axe Murderer – A Real Fine Mess (BC)

Classical Composition of the Year, presented by Canadian Music Centre
Cobalt – Jocelyn Morlock (BC)
Wayfaring – Nova Pon (AB) Beyond Shadows – Dorothy Chang(BC)
Owen Underhill (Owen Underhill) – Duotone (BC)
Homage To Liu Wenjin – Keith Hamel (BC)

Country Recording of the Year, presented by Dauphin’s CountryFest
Bobby Wills – Crazy Enough (AB)
Chad Brownlee – The Fighters (BC)
Jay Sparrow – BLUEBIRD (AB)
MacKenzie Porter – MacKenzie Porter (AB)
Ridley Bent – Wildcard (MB)

Francophone Recording of the Year, presented by Musicaction
Alex Mahé – Réveillons les bonnes chansons! (AB)
Annette – Papillon Amiral (SK)
Isabelle Longnus – CODE BLEU (BC)
Paul Cournoyer – Paul Cournoyer (AB)
Joe Silva – Memory Fade (MB)
Kiesza – Hideaway (AB)
Soulier – Expansions (AB)

Independent Album of the Year, presented by Stingray
Close Talker – Flux (SK)
Dan Mangan + Blacksmith – Club Meds (BC)
Tanya Tagaq – Animism (MB)
The Harpoonist & The Axe Murderer – A Real Fine Mess (BC)
The Wet Secrets – Free Candy (AB)

Jazz Recording of the Year
A/B Trio – Out West (AB)
Eli Bennett – Breakthrough (BC)
Jill Barber – Fool’s Gold (BC)
Paul Keeling – Ancient Lights (BC)
The Writers’ Guild – Based on a True Story (AB)
Tyler Hornby – Launch (AB)

Pop Recording of the Year
BESTiE – No Bad Days (BC)
Helen Austin – You Knew Me (BC)
Laura Enns – Nothing to Prove (MB)
Nat Jay – All I Think When I Wake Up (BC)
Young Liars – Tidal Wave (BC)

Rock Recording of the Year, presented by Radio Starmaker
36? – where do we go from here? (AB)
Close Talker – Flux (SK)
Dan Mangan + Blacksmith – Club Meds (BC)
Gay Nineties – Liberal Guilt (BC)
Napalmpom – The Unconditional Love Of Napalmpom (AB)
The Pack A.D. – Do Not Engage (BC)

Roots Solo Recording of the Year
Colleen Rennison – See The Sky About To Rain (BC)
John Mann – The Waiting Room (BC)
Lucas Chaisson – Telling Time (AB)
Sarah MacDougall – Grand Canyon (YT)
WiL – El Paseo (BC)
Paul Cournoyer – Paul Cournoyer (AB)
Vazzy – En passant / By the way (BC)

Instrumental Recording of the Year
Five Alarm Funk – Abandon Earth (BC)
Glen Gillis – SaxSpectrum 2 (SK)
JJ Guy & Gordon Stobbe – Twin Fiddles (SK)
The 427’s – Surf Noir (AB)
Weird Party – Mellow Funk – Vol. 1 (BC)

Metal/HardMusic Recording of the Year
Altars of Grief – This Shameful Burden (SK)
Quartered – Eyes And Ears (BC)
Shooting Guns – WolfCop Soundtrack (SK)
Sparky – #Humanimation (SK)
Torches To Triggers – Modern Day Monsters (AB)

Rap/Hip-Hop Recording of the Year
Def3 – Wildlif3 (SK)
Immaculate – Solitude (BC)
Madchild – Switched On (BC)
Matt Brevner – Eclectricity (BC)
Moka Only – Sex Money Moka (BC)

Roots Duo/Group Recording of the Year
Qristina & Quinn Bachand – Little Hinges (BC)
The Sweet Lowdown – Chasing the Sun (BC)
Tiller’s Folly – Stirring Up Ghosts Volumes 1 & 2 (BC)
Twin Peaks – Trouble (BC)

Spiritual Recording of the Year
JOAL KAMPS – Heads Is East, Tails Is West (AB)
Matt Epp – Luma (MB)
Steve Bell – Pilgrimage (MB)
Tanya Tagaq – Animism (MB)
Tim Neufeld – The Joy (feat. The Glory Boys) (MB)

Songwriter(s) of the Year, presented by SOCAN
Daniel Moxon, Joseph Martin, Matt Rhode, Jason Hodgson “Best of You” – Bend Sinister, From The Album Animals (BC)
Craig Moreau “Every Step I Take” From the Album The Daredevil Kid (AB)
Dan Mangan “Vessel” – Dan Mangan + Blacksmith From the Album Club Meds (BC)
Lizzy Hoyt “White Feather” – Lizzy Hoyt From The Album New Lady on the Prairie (AB)
Thomas “Tawgs” Salter, Trevor Guthrie, Josh Byer, Glenn Morrison, Michael Wise “Soundwave” – R3HAB From The Single Soundwave (BC)

Urban Recording of the Year
Alfa – Harmattan (MB)
Dawn Pemberton – Say Somethin’ (BC)
Jaclyn Gee – Gypsy Rose (BC)
Sierra Jamerson – Blood in the Water (AB)
The Boom Booms – Love is Overdue (BC)

World Recording of the Year
Andino Suns – It’s Time to Rise (SK)
Cari Burdett – Magnolia (BC)
Marco Claveria Project – Origins (AB)
Tambura Rasa – Arribada (BC)
Tanya Tagaq – Animism (MB)

View All Nominees